Daily Yinz – Lounna – Peak Season

Lounna’s latest single is a ball of warmth to get you through the cold late winter.

If somebody had come to the kid version of me, his little hands wrapped around a cup of hot chocolate after an afternoon spent sledding, and said, “You know, there’s going to be a day when you see snow flurries out the window and get angry,” the kid version of me would have told that somebody to get lost. I’ve loved snow my whole life, and still do–between the months of November and January. When six inches fell on Pittsburgh this past weekend, I shook my fist at the sky. I’d fallen for the false dawn of springtime, suggested by a few sunny days in the high-fifties, and was not prepared to slide yet again along icy sidewalks while flakes stung my face. Lounna’s banjo- and violin-assisted “Peak Season,” inspired by experiences with seasonal affective disorder, contains both the melancholy that characterizes the drag of winter and the hope that comes with the thought of spring. As Lounna soothes, “So sorrower, keep sowing/Your greens are endless growing/Though night will come/So then will come the morning,” a tambourine sounds resolutely from its place amidst the song’s lush instrumentation, a quiet, steady augur of brighter days ahead.

Check out more from Lounna and follow on Instagram and Facebook

Artwork by bekysfairy

Leave a comment